top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe Barela

Marriage at a young age

Updated: Jan 15, 2021

Getting married young isn’t as common as it once was. I’m sure you’ve heard of the phrase “date to marry”. Well, the “date to marry” isn’t as common as it once was either. The dating culture has changed, and still continues to change. People are more interested in just having fun without being in a committed relationship. Although we are young, there are more than several perks of getting married at a young age that I have already experienced. I know that we don’t have all the wisdom that comes with the years of life experience.. However, we go through the storms together. We learn from it together. Transitioning into an adult, is a lot easier having someone to experience it with. It’s humbling. Getting married young forces you to grow up faster. You no longer get to act in selfish ways. It’s no longer about you. It is what is best for us. Josh and I have got to share unforgettable memories and milestones together. Its one thing to celebrate milestones and achievements for yourself, but it’s even more amazing to support, celebrate, and share your partner’s achievements and be just as happy as them. Our lives have become one. Getting married young hasn’t been easy, especially being long distance, but we have overcome it together. I get asked more than I would like to admit “are you sure you made the right choice?” “are you positive you want to go through with this?” “you need to experience life more before you settle down.”

Well, who says we were settling down? I look at it from a completely different point of view than most people do. No, I don’t want to settle down right now. No, I don’t want to have children anytime soon. No, I am not in a rush. Josh is the person I want to experience life with. When I achieve something, or meet a goal, the first person I look for or call, is him. I don’t want to travel alone, I don’t want to go to concerts alone, try new restaurants alone. I do a lot more now being married than I ever had before. Getting married to Josh was hands down the best decision I have ever made, and was the best day of my entire life. I knew from the moment I hung out with him, that he was going to be my husband! I called my mom instantly and said “yep, that will be my husband one day”. literally. Society creates these standards and people get so nervous to do things because “we’re young” but honestly, I just got a faster start than most people my age, and I wouldn’t change it for the world. I love, love, love Josh, and I fell in love with him even more after we got married. I have learned a lot about him since we got married and he is the kindest, most supportive, sweetest, selfless, silliest human being ever. (he would deny it if he saw this😉) but, you are never too young to reach for the stars. I did what made me happy, no matter what anybody said. Life is way too short to care what people think about you, or how they view you through their eyes. You aren’t going to party all through your 20’s then finally become an adult. You choose when to become an adult. I didn’t see any point in wasting my 20’s. I have never been interested in a party and honestly never really saw a point in it. I have always been much more content staying home on a Friday night with a book. I choose to love Josh everyday. When we have our issues, my commitment still stands. Strangers asked “are you pregnant?” and when I would reply no, they were confused. “Wait you actually want to?” I was in shock. I mean DUH, of course I want to! Friends and Family who knew Josh and I as a couple were supportive and genuinely happy for us, but some were more reserved in their celebration. Some expressed their concerns on getting married at a young age. We both knew that we were going to be in eachothers lives, and we wanted to build that life together instead of separately. “How did you know?”. If anyone out there is happily in love, you’ll understand what I am about to say next. WHEN YOU KNOW, YOU KNOW. There is no specific reason why I married Josh, there are countless reasons why, but I just knew that Josh would be my husband one day. Didn’t matter if I was 18, 30, or 80. I just had this gut feeling always telling me that he was the one.

No matter your age, it doesn’t qualify you for a marriage. You can be 18 and be ready or be 80 and not be ready. Commitment, selflessness, and willingness to learn is what it takes.


XOXO


Are you a young person engaged, or married? Or deciding when to get married? What was your experience??


*Requested Blog*

Thank you for following along!! I would love to hear your feedback! If you have any more blogs you would like to see, leave it in the feedback box! Don’t forget to subscribe — xoxo




127 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Home

bottom of page